Five Seasons at Sonoran Desert’s Upland Arizona Section

on December 4, 2005

The Sonoran Desert’s Upland Arizona section has five seasons instead of four: summer monsoon (early July to mid-September), autumn, winter, spring, and foresummer drought (May and June). Some scientists claim the region is not desert at all, but thornscrub, an intermediate classification between desert and tropical forest.

Found in: Trivia