Rattlesnakes of Arizona

on December 16, 2001

Arizona is home to more kinds of rattlesnakes (11 of the known 33 species) than any other state, so it’s fitting that a rattler-the Arizona ridge-nosed rattlesnake-be named the state’s official reptile. The small snake rarely weighs more than three to four ounces or stretches more than 24 inches long when fully grown. It lives in the Huachuca, Patagonia, and Santa Rita Mountains in the south-central part of the state.

Found in: Trivia